Best News API

Opoint vs GNews: full comparison for 2026

Quick verdict

Opoint (4.2/5) edges ahead of GNews (4.1/5) overall. Opoint is the better choice for monitoring platforms and AML teams needing non-English coverage. GNews is the stronger option for indie developers needing affordable commercial news access. The right pick depends on your budget, how much history you need and whether you need full text.

Opoint vs GNews: head-to-head summary

Criterion Opoint GNews
Founded 2001 Not disclosed
HQ Norway; owned by Infomedia (Denmark) Not publicly disclosed
Team size Not publicly disclosed Not publicly disclosed
Rating 4.2 / 5 4.1 / 5
Primary differentiator Built as a wholesale feed with heavy non-English and local coverage Two simple endpoints with commercial rights from €49.99 a month
Pricing model Custom licence Monthly or yearly plans in euros
Entry price Custom quote €49.99/mo
Formats & SDKs REST API, JSON, XML REST API, JSON
Typical uses Media monitoring, Risk & compliance, Financial services, Marketing & PR News & content apps, AI & LLM apps, Marketing & PR

Opoint vs GNews: overview

Opoint

Opoint has supplied news data since 2001 and belongs to Infomedia, the Nordic media-monitoring group owned by the Danish publishers JP/Politiken and Berlingske. It sells itself to monitoring platforms as their data supplier, with 250,000+ sources across 230 jurisdictions and 135 languages, roughly 60% of them non-English (per company website; independently unverifiable). Data arrives through an API or a push feed in JSON, XML or CSV. A separate adverse-media product targets anti-money-laundering (AML) and know-your-customer (KYC) checks, and all pricing is quote-based.

GNews

GNews is a compact API with a search endpoint and a top-headlines endpoint, filtered by country, language and category. The site does not name its operator. It credits a studio called Gigathink and lists only a contact email, so company size and founding year are not public. Plans are priced in euros. The free tier allows 100 requests a day for non-commercial use with 30 days of history, Essential (€49.99 a month) adds commercial rights, 1,000 requests a day and articles back to 2020, and Business and Enterprise raise the daily quota to 5,000 and 25,000.

Features: Opoint vs GNews

Capability Opoint GNews
Full article text ✓ ✓
Historical archive ✓ ✓
NLP enrichment ✓ ✗
Story/event clustering ✗ ✗
Licensed publisher content ✗ ✗
Streaming or webhooks ✓ ✗
Free access ✗ ✓

Formats and SDKs: Opoint vs GNews

Format / SDK Opoint GNews
REST API ✓ ✓
Python SDK N/A N/A
Node.js SDK N/A N/A
Webhooks N/A N/A
WebSocket N/A N/A
MCP server N/A N/A
S3/bulk delivery N/A N/A
BigQuery N/A N/A

Pricing comparison: Opoint vs GNews

Criterion Opoint GNews
Entry price Custom quote €49.99/mo
Pricing model Custom licence Monthly or yearly plans in euros
Access models Enterprise contract Free tier, Monthly plans
Price transparency Quote only Public price
Price tier Enterprise / quote Budget

Who each API suits: Opoint vs GNews

Dimension Opoint GNews
Buyer type Enterprise only Individuals to enterprise
Typical uses Media monitoring, Risk & compliance, Financial services News & content apps, AI & LLM apps, Marketing & PR
Example use cases Powering a media-monitoring product with global coverage. Adverse-media screening for AML and KYC. A news widget or digest in a consumer app. A small SaaS feature that pulls headlines by country.
How you get access Enterprise contract Free tier

Opoint vs GNews: pros and cons

Opoint
+ About 60% non-English coverage is unusually strong for Europe, Asia and Africa
+ Matching articles arrive in under seven minutes on average (per company website)
+ Push feeds and CSV or XML output suit platforms that ingest in bulk
+ Two decades of supplying monitoring companies
- No public pricing or self-serve developer tier
- Sold to platforms and enterprises, so individual developers are not the audience
- Its owner Infomedia is itself a monitoring vendor, which matters if you compete with it
GNews
+ Two endpoints and plain parameters, so a working call takes minutes
+ Commercial rights start at €49.99 a month, and yearly billing cuts that by about 20%
+ Up to 100 articles per request on the top plan
+ Paid tiers include full article content
- History only goes back to 2020
- The operator and its support capacity are opaque
- No entity, sentiment or clustering data

Who should choose Opoint?

A typical fit: powering a media-monitoring product with global coverage.

Built as a wholesale feed with heavy non-English and local coverage. Paid access is quote-based. Typical uses: Media monitoring, Risk & compliance, Financial services, Marketing & PR.

Who should choose GNews?

A typical fit: a news widget or digest in a consumer app.

Two simple endpoints with commercial rights from €49.99 a month. Paid access starts at €49.99/mo. Typical uses: News & content apps, AI & LLM apps, Marketing & PR.

Decision matrix: Opoint vs GNews

Your situation Recommended choice
You want to start free before paying GNews
Your budget is at the lower end GNews
You need full article text in the response Both
You need years of historical news Both
You need licensed premium or wire content Neither; look at Factiva, AP or LexisNexis
You are wiring news into an LLM agent Both work through plain REST calls

Use case fit: Opoint vs GNews

Use case Opoint fit GNews fit Winner
Media monitoring Strong Limited Opoint
Risk & compliance Strong Limited Opoint
Financial services Strong Limited Opoint
Marketing & PR Strong Strong Both equally
News & content apps Limited Strong GNews
AI & LLM apps Limited Strong GNews

Verdict: Opoint vs GNews

Opoint (4.2/5) is the stronger overall choice as a news data source. Built as a wholesale feed with heavy non-English and local coverage.

GNews (4.1/5) is worth a look if you need a small SaaS feature that pulls headlines by country. If your situation matches that, GNews is a competitive option.

Related comparisons

Opoint vs GNews FAQ

Is Opoint better than GNews?

Opoint (4.2/5) scores higher overall, but "better" depends on your use case. Opoint's strongest advantage: about 60% non-English coverage is unusually strong for Europe, Asia and Africa. GNews's strongest advantage: two endpoints and plain parameters, so a working call takes minutes.

How do Opoint and GNews differ in pricing?

Opoint: custom licence, priced by quote. GNews: monthly or yearly plans in euros, with paid access from €49.99/mo. Only GNews offers free access.

Which is better for enterprise: Opoint or GNews?

Opoint sells enterprise contracts with negotiated volume and SLA terms. Neither carries licensed publisher content, so check copyright terms before republishing anything.

What are the main differences between Opoint and GNews?

What sets Opoint apart: built as a wholesale feed with heavy non-English and local coverage. What sets GNews apart: two simple endpoints with commercial rights from €49.99 a month. They also differ on entry price (Custom quote vs €49.99/mo) and typical uses (Media monitoring, Risk & compliance vs News & content apps, AI & LLM apps).

Verify all details directly with each API before making a decision.