Best News API

GNews vs Reuters Connect: full comparison for 2026

Quick verdict

GNews (4.1/5) edges ahead of Reuters Connect (3.8/5) overall. GNews is the better choice for indie developers needing affordable commercial news access. Reuters Connect is the stronger option for media companies licensing Reuters wire content. The right pick depends on your budget, how much history you need and whether you need full text.

GNews vs Reuters Connect: head-to-head summary

Criterion GNews Reuters Connect
Founded Not disclosed 1851
HQ Not publicly disclosed London, UK
Team size Not publicly disclosed 1,000+ (Thomson Reuters)
Rating 4.1 / 5 3.8 / 5
Primary differentiator Two simple endpoints with commercial rights from €49.99 a month Reuters' own global reporting with publishing rights
Pricing model Monthly or yearly plans in euros Negotiated licence
Entry price €49.99/mo Custom quote
Formats & SDKs REST API, JSON REST API, JSON, XML
Typical uses News & content apps, AI & LLM apps, Marketing & PR News & content apps, Financial services, AI & LLM apps

GNews vs Reuters Connect: overview

GNews

GNews is a compact API with a search endpoint and a top-headlines endpoint, filtered by country, language and category. The site does not name its operator. It credits a studio called Gigathink and lists only a contact email, so company size and founding year are not public. Plans are priced in euros. The free tier allows 100 requests a day for non-commercial use with 30 days of history, Essential (€49.99 a month) adds commercial rights, 1,000 requests a day and articles back to 2020, and Business and Enterprise raise the daily quota to 5,000 and 25,000.

Reuters Connect

Reuters, owned by Thomson Reuters, distributes its text, pictures, video and graphics to media customers through Reuters Connect, which includes a REST API for searching and retrieving editorial content. Reuters issues credentials only after a commercial agreement, and there is no self-serve key. Banks and trading firms usually take Reuters news through LSEG terminals and machine-readable feeds instead, under a separate licence. Thomson Reuters has licensed Reuters content to AI companies too, including Meta in 2024, and pricing is negotiated in every case.

Features: GNews vs Reuters Connect

Capability GNews Reuters Connect
Full article text ✓ ✓
Historical archive ✓ ✓
NLP enrichment ✗ ✗
Story/event clustering ✗ ✗
Licensed publisher content ✗ ✓
Streaming or webhooks ✗ ✗
Free access ✓ ✗

Formats and SDKs: GNews vs Reuters Connect

Format / SDK GNews Reuters Connect
REST API ✓ ✓
Python SDK N/A N/A
Node.js SDK N/A N/A
Webhooks N/A N/A
WebSocket N/A N/A
MCP server N/A N/A
S3/bulk delivery N/A N/A
BigQuery N/A N/A

Pricing comparison: GNews vs Reuters Connect

Criterion GNews Reuters Connect
Entry price €49.99/mo Custom quote
Pricing model Monthly or yearly plans in euros Negotiated licence
Access models Free tier, Monthly plans Enterprise contract
Price transparency Public price Quote only
Price tier Budget Enterprise / quote

Who each API suits: GNews vs Reuters Connect

Dimension GNews Reuters Connect
Buyer type Individuals to enterprise Enterprise only
Typical uses News & content apps, AI & LLM apps, Marketing & PR News & content apps, Financial services, AI & LLM apps
Example use cases A news widget or digest in a consumer app. A small SaaS feature that pulls headlines by country. Publishers adding Reuters wire copy to their sites. AI assistants that cite Reuters reporting under licence.
How you get access Free tier Enterprise contract

GNews vs Reuters Connect: pros and cons

GNews
+ Two endpoints and plain parameters, so a working call takes minutes
+ Commercial rights start at €49.99 a month, and yearly billing cuts that by about 20%
+ Up to 100 articles per request on the top plan
+ Paid tiers include full article content
- History only goes back to 2020
- The operator and its support capacity are opaque
- No entity, sentiment or clustering data
Reuters Connect
+ Reuters' international and business reporting, licensed for publication
+ Pictures, video and graphics on the same platform
+ High credibility for financial and political news
+ A licensing track record with AI companies, including Meta in 2024
- Credentials only after a commercial agreement
- Finance-grade real-time news is a separate LSEG product and contract
- Single-publisher scope

Who should choose GNews?

A typical fit: a news widget or digest in a consumer app.

Two simple endpoints with commercial rights from €49.99 a month. Paid access starts at €49.99/mo. Typical uses: News & content apps, AI & LLM apps, Marketing & PR.

Who should choose Reuters Connect?

A typical fit: publishers adding Reuters wire copy to their sites.

Reuters' own global reporting with publishing rights. Paid access is quote-based. Typical uses: News & content apps, Financial services, AI & LLM apps.

Decision matrix: GNews vs Reuters Connect

Your situation Recommended choice
You want to start free before paying GNews
Your budget is at the lower end GNews
You need full article text in the response Both
You need years of historical news Both
You need licensed premium or wire content Reuters Connect
You are wiring news into an LLM agent Both work through plain REST calls

Use case fit: GNews vs Reuters Connect

Use case GNews fit Reuters Connect fit Winner
News & content apps Strong Strong Both equally
AI & LLM apps Strong Strong Both equally
Marketing & PR Strong Limited GNews
Financial services Limited Strong Reuters Connect

Verdict: GNews vs Reuters Connect

GNews (4.1/5) is the stronger overall choice as a news data source. Two simple endpoints with commercial rights from €49.99 a month.

Reuters Connect (3.8/5) is worth a look if you need AI assistants that cite Reuters reporting under licence. If your situation matches that, Reuters Connect is a competitive option.

Related comparisons

GNews vs Reuters Connect FAQ

Is GNews better than Reuters Connect?

GNews (4.1/5) scores higher overall, but "better" depends on your use case. GNews's strongest advantage: two endpoints and plain parameters, so a working call takes minutes. Reuters Connect's strongest advantage: Reuters' international and business reporting, licensed for publication.

How do GNews and Reuters Connect differ in pricing?

GNews: monthly or yearly plans in euros, with paid access from €49.99/mo. Reuters Connect: negotiated licence, priced by quote. Only GNews offers free access.

Which is better for enterprise: GNews or Reuters Connect?

Reuters Connect sells enterprise contracts with negotiated volume and SLA terms. Reuters Connect carries licensed publisher content, which matters for legal review.

What are the main differences between GNews and Reuters Connect?

What sets GNews apart: two simple endpoints with commercial rights from €49.99 a month. What sets Reuters Connect apart: Reuters' own global reporting with publishing rights. They also differ on entry price (€49.99/mo vs Custom quote) and typical uses (News & content apps, AI & LLM apps vs News & content apps, Financial services).

Verify all details directly with each API before making a decision.