GNews vs Guardian Open Platform: full comparison for 2026
Quick verdict
GNews (4.1/5) edges ahead of Guardian Open Platform (3.8/5) overall. GNews is the better choice for indie developers needing affordable commercial news access. Guardian Open Platform is the stronger option for Students, researchers and non-commercial apps. The right pick depends on your budget, how much history you need and whether you need full text.
GNews vs Guardian Open Platform: head-to-head summary
| Criterion | GNews | Guardian Open Platform |
|---|---|---|
| Founded | Not disclosed | 1821 |
| HQ | Not publicly disclosed | London, UK |
| Team size | Not publicly disclosed | 1,000+ (Guardian Media Group) |
| Rating | 4.1 / 5 | 3.8 / 5 |
| Primary differentiator | Two simple endpoints with commercial rights from €49.99 a month | Free full article text with editorial tags from a major publisher |
| Pricing model | Monthly or yearly plans in euros | Free developer key; commercial licence on request |
| Entry price | €49.99/mo | Free |
| Formats & SDKs | REST API, JSON | REST API, JSON |
| Typical uses | News & content apps, AI & LLM apps, Marketing & PR | Research & academia, News & content apps, AI & LLM apps |
GNews vs Guardian Open Platform: overview
GNews
GNews is a compact API with a search endpoint and a top-headlines endpoint, filtered by country, language and category. The site does not name its operator. It credits a studio called Gigathink and lists only a contact email, so company size and founding year are not public. Plans are priced in euros. The free tier allows 100 requests a day for non-commercial use with 30 days of history, Essential (€49.99 a month) adds commercial rights, 1,000 requests a day and articles back to 2020, and Business and Enterprise raise the daily quota to 5,000 and 25,000.
Guardian Open Platform
The Guardian's Open Platform gives developers the same content API that runs the Guardian's own sites, with full article bodies, tags and sections going back to 1999. A free developer key is commonly reported at about 5,000 calls a day and 12 calls a second, and it is meant for non-commercial projects. Commercial use needs a separate agreement with Guardian News & Media. Clean, consistent tagging has made it a favourite for teaching and research, though you only ever get one publisher.
Features: GNews vs Guardian Open Platform
| Capability | GNews | Guardian Open Platform |
|---|---|---|
| Full article text | ✓ | ✓ |
| Historical archive | ✓ | ✓ |
| NLP enrichment | ✗ | ✗ |
| Story/event clustering | ✗ | ✗ |
| Licensed publisher content | ✗ | ✗ |
| Streaming or webhooks | ✗ | ✗ |
| Free access | ✓ | ✓ |
Formats and SDKs: GNews vs Guardian Open Platform
| Format / SDK | GNews | Guardian Open Platform |
|---|---|---|
| REST API | ✓ | ✓ |
| Python SDK | N/A | N/A |
| Node.js SDK | N/A | N/A |
| Webhooks | N/A | N/A |
| WebSocket | N/A | N/A |
| MCP server | N/A | N/A |
| S3/bulk delivery | N/A | N/A |
| BigQuery | N/A | N/A |
Pricing comparison: GNews vs Guardian Open Platform
| Criterion | GNews | Guardian Open Platform |
|---|---|---|
| Entry price | €49.99/mo | Free |
| Pricing model | Monthly or yearly plans in euros | Free developer key; commercial licence on request |
| Access models | Free tier, Monthly plans | Free tier, Enterprise contract |
| Price transparency | Public price | Public price |
| Price tier | Budget | Free |
Who each API suits: GNews vs Guardian Open Platform
| Dimension | GNews | Guardian Open Platform |
|---|---|---|
| Buyer type | Individuals to enterprise | Individuals to enterprise |
| Typical uses | News & content apps, AI & LLM apps, Marketing & PR | Research & academia, News & content apps, AI & LLM apps |
| Example use cases | A news widget or digest in a consumer app. A small SaaS feature that pulls headlines by country. | Teaching data journalism or NLP with real articles. Research on UK and international coverage over time. |
| How you get access | Free tier | Free tier |
GNews vs Guardian Open Platform: pros and cons
| GNews | |
|---|---|
| + | Two endpoints and plain parameters, so a working call takes minutes |
| + | Commercial rights start at €49.99 a month, and yearly billing cuts that by about 20% |
| + | Up to 100 articles per request on the top plan |
| + | Paid tiers include full article content |
| - | History only goes back to 2020 |
| - | The operator and its support capacity are opaque |
| - | No entity, sentiment or clustering data |
| Guardian Open Platform | |
|---|---|
| + | Full article bodies at no cost, which is unusual for a major newspaper |
| + | Consistent tags and sections make filtering easy |
| + | An archive going back to 1999 |
| + | A stable, well-documented API that the Guardian uses itself |
| - | Single publisher, so coverage reflects one editorial line |
| - | Commercial use requires negotiating a licence |
Who should choose GNews?
A typical fit: a news widget or digest in a consumer app.
Two simple endpoints with commercial rights from €49.99 a month. Paid access starts at €49.99/mo. Typical uses: News & content apps, AI & LLM apps, Marketing & PR.
Who should choose Guardian Open Platform?
A typical fit: teaching data journalism or NLP with real articles.
Free full article text with editorial tags from a major publisher. Paid access starts at Free. Typical uses: Research & academia, News & content apps, AI & LLM apps.
Decision matrix: GNews vs Guardian Open Platform
| Your situation | Recommended choice |
|---|---|
| You want to start free before paying | Both |
| Your budget is at the lower end | Guardian Open Platform |
| You need full article text in the response | Both |
| You need years of historical news | Both |
| You need licensed premium or wire content | Neither; look at Factiva, AP or LexisNexis |
| You are wiring news into an LLM agent | Both work through plain REST calls |
Use case fit: GNews vs Guardian Open Platform
| Use case | GNews fit | Guardian Open Platform fit | Winner |
|---|---|---|---|
| News & content apps | Strong | Strong | Both equally |
| AI & LLM apps | Strong | Strong | Both equally |
| Marketing & PR | Strong | Limited | GNews |
| Research & academia | Limited | Strong | Guardian Open Platform |
Verdict: GNews vs Guardian Open Platform
GNews (4.1/5) is the stronger overall choice as a news data source. Two simple endpoints with commercial rights from €49.99 a month.
Guardian Open Platform (3.8/5) is worth a look if you need research on UK and international coverage over time. If your situation matches that, Guardian Open Platform is a competitive option.
Related comparisons
GNews vs Guardian Open Platform FAQ
Is GNews better than Guardian Open Platform?
GNews (4.1/5) scores higher overall, but "better" depends on your use case. GNews's strongest advantage: two endpoints and plain parameters, so a working call takes minutes. Guardian Open Platform's strongest advantage: full article bodies at no cost, which is unusual for a major newspaper.
How do GNews and Guardian Open Platform differ in pricing?
GNews: monthly or yearly plans in euros, with paid access from €49.99/mo. Guardian Open Platform: free developer key; commercial licence on request, with paid access from Free. Both offer some free access for testing.
Which is better for enterprise: GNews or Guardian Open Platform?
Guardian Open Platform sells enterprise contracts with negotiated volume and SLA terms. Neither carries licensed publisher content, so check copyright terms before republishing anything.
What are the main differences between GNews and Guardian Open Platform?
What sets GNews apart: two simple endpoints with commercial rights from €49.99 a month. What sets Guardian Open Platform apart: free full article text with editorial tags from a major publisher. They also differ on entry price (€49.99/mo vs Free) and typical uses (News & content apps, AI & LLM apps vs Research & academia, News & content apps).
Verify all details directly with each API before making a decision.